How to Share Location On Whatsapp


Advertisement

WhatsApp, the most widely used messaging app in the world, offers several options that many users may not be aware of or are unaware of how to use.

One such function is the sharing of a live location. This is useful when you want to share your current location with loved ones or share it for security reasons.

With the live location function, you can share your real-time location with the participants of an individual or group chat for a certain period of time.

While you can control whether and for how long you want to share your live location, you can stop sharing your live location at any time. Once stopped or expired, your live location will no longer be shared.

People you share your live location with will still see the location you shared as a static thumbnail and can tap the image to see your most recently updated location.

Since WhatsApp conversations are secured, this function is also encrypted throughout. This means that no one can see your live location except for the people you share it with.

How to share your live location


Enable location permissions for WhatsApp in your phone’s settings by tapping on Privacy> Location Services> WhatsApp> Always. Alternatively, you can go to your phone’s settings> WhatsApp> Location> Always.
Open an individual or group chat.
Tap Attach +> Location> Share Live Location.
Select the length of time you want to share your live location for. Your live location will no longer be shared after the selected time.

Optionally, add a comment.
Tap Submit.

How to stop sharing your live location
Stop sharing your live location in any specific one-on-one or group chat

Open the individual or group chat.
Tap Stop Sharing> Stop Sharing.
Stop sharing your live location in any one-on-one or group chats

Go to WhatsApp Settings> Account> Privacy> Live Location.
Tap Stop Sharing> Stop Sharing
.

Note:
You can turn off location permissions for WhatsApp at any time by going to Settings> Privacy> Location Services> WhatsApp> Never on your phone.
Alternatively, you can go to your phone’s settings> WhatsApp> Location> Never.